Boxing News - Latest Headlines

Unofficial Boxingnews24 2012 Awards

marquez5By Gerardo Granados: As the year comes to an end the boxing fans must be satisfied after witness so many great fights during this busy 2012. First of all let me applause and recognize to all those anonymous fighters that around the planet gave boxing fans thrilling and bloody fights to enjoy, unfortunately the Unofficial Boxingnews24 2012 Awards are meant for the main events. Ladies and Gentlemen without any further last words let’s award the best of the best of 2012.

A lackluster award but a necessary one, “Robbery of the year 2012” goes to Brandon Rios vs. Richard Abril lightweight title bout. Rios failed to make weight but in yet another “unexplainable” judge scoring found himself winning by split decision. This was a close call to make and some boxing fans will pick the Tim Bradley vs. Manny Pacquiao fight for sure.

“Upset of the year 2012” goes to Danny Garcia vs. Amir Khan. It was a pleasant surprise to watch the hungry young lion rise this year.

“Knockout of the year 2012” goes to Manny Pacquiao vs. Juan Manuel Marquez. No need to add a single word.
“Fight of the year 2012” goes to Manny Pacquiao vs. Juan Manuel Marquez. The fourth created high expectations, great fight between two lion kings, unexpected and dramatic ending.

“Fighter of the year 2012” goes to Nonito Donaire. The Filipino Flash moved up to super bantamweight picking two major belts and defeated four top division contenders. Future looks bright and unlimited for Donaire.

Congratulations to the 2012 Boxingnews24 Awards winners and happy new year to the readers.

Comments are closed.


The views expressed in all articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of BoxingNews24 or its affiliates.

Privacy Statement l Back to top of page l Cookies Policy l Boxing Resources l Contact Us