Boxing News - Latest Headlines

Golovkin, Alvarado news

NEW YORK (April 9, 2013) — Fresh off of his sensational victory over Brandon Rios, Mike Alvarado will celebrate with the public when he attends the 88th annual dinner of the Boxing Writers Association of America, this Thursday (April 11), at the Capitale in New York City. It is only fitting that Alvarado should be there to soak in the accolades. His first bout with Rios barely missed out on being named the 2012 “Fight of the Year.” The rematch is sure to garner many votes when all is said and done in 2013.

Also announcing his plans to be in attendance is middleweight title holder Gennady Golovkin. The unbeaten Golovkin who is generally considered one of the best pound for pound fighters in the world is taking a well earned rest after having fought just last week, scoring an impressive stoppage over Japan’s Nobuhiro Ishida

Alvarado and Golovkin are the latest stars committed to attending what is called the Academy Awards of boxing. Also confirmed to attend are Nonito Donaire, Juan Manuel Marquez, Roy Jones, Timothy Bradley, Ruslan Provodnikov, Paul Malignaggi, Steve Cunningham, and Danny Jacobs.

There will be ample opportunities to take photos, get autographs, and chat with the many celebrities in attendance.

Dave Diamante the host of NBC’s sports show “The Lights” will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

All ticket holders will receive a gift bag valued at approximately $125.

There are a limited number of tickets still available. They can be purchased by contacting Event Coordinator Gina Andriolo at (917-312-6418) or BWAA President Jack Hirsch at (516-790-7592).

For full information on the dinner go to


James Tennyson signs with Matchroom Boxing

2012 BWAA Award Winners

Nonito Donaire The Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter of the Year

Robert Garcia The Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year

Danny Garcia vs. Ivan Redkach, Jarrett Hurd vs. Francisco Santana workout quotes

Juan Manuel Marguez – Manny Pacquiao IV The Ali-Frazier Award Fight of the Year

Al Haymon The Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year

Kathy Duva & Bruce Trampler The Barney Nagler Award Long & Meritorious Service

Steve Farhood The Marvin Kohn Award Good Guy

Danny Jacobs The Bill Crawford Award Courage Overcoming Adversity

Peter Finney The A.J. Liebling Award Outstanding Boxing Writer

Dave Kindred The Nat Fleischer Award Excellence In Boxing Journalism

Max Kellerman The Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism


Bernie Awards for boxing writing winners will also be presented. A silent auction will be held.

Cocktails are available at 6:00 p.m. ET, followed at 7:30 p.m. ET by dinner and the awards ceremony.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe (Free!)

The views expressed in all articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of BoxingNews24 or its affiliates.

Facebook Button Twitter Button Twitter Button

Privacy Statement l Do Not Sell My Personal Information  l Cookies Policy l Boxing Resources l Back To Top l Contact Us