Boxing News - Latest Headlines

Aaron “The Hawk” Pryor to visit Canastota, June 6-9

CANASTOTA, NY – APRIL 8, 2013 – The International Boxing Hall of Fame announced today junior welterweight champion and 1996 Hall of Fame Inductee Aaron “The Hawk” Pryor is set to return to Canastota for the 24th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Weekend festivities, June 6-9th.

Aaron “The Hawk” Pryor

“Hands down, Aaron Pryor was one of boxing’s most exciting fighters to watch,” said Hall of Fame director Edward Brophy. “His aggressive, take no prisoners style endeared him to fans the world over. It will definitely be ‘Hawk Time’ in Canastota!”

On August 2, 1980 Pryor brought his undefeated record (24-0, 22 KOs) into the ring against WBA junior welterweight king Antonio “Kid Pambele” Cervantes. “The Hawk” scored a 4th round knockout over the future Hall of Famer to begin an impressive title reign that saw him defend the strap eight times before adding the IBF title to his collection in 1984. The fighting pride of Cincinnati, OH, during his career Pryor compiled a 39-1 (35 KOs) record with wins over Gaetan Hart, Alfonso Frazer and Lennox Blackmoore. In 1982 and 1983, he engaged in two legendary wars with fellow Hall of Famer Alexis Arguello (TKO 14, KO 10). In 1996 he was elected into the Hall of Fame.

Events planned for the weekend include a banquet, a night of welterweight warriors, parade, golf tournament, boxing autograph card show, cocktail party and the Official Induction Ceremony honoring the Class of 2013. Inductees include two-division champion Arturo “Thunder” Gatti (posthumous), five-time world champion Virgil “Quicksilver” Hill and two-time light flyweight champion Myung-Woo Yuh in the Modern category; “Let’s Get It On” referee Mills Lane, ring announcer Jimmy Lennon, Jr. and journalist Colin Hart. Posthumous inductees in the Old-Timer, Pioneer, Non-Participant and Observer categories will also be honored.

An impressive list of over 40 boxing stars from the United States and abroad are scheduled to participate in weekend festivities including Marvelous Marvin Hagler, “Irish” Micky Ward, James “Buddy” McGirt, Pipino Cuevas, Julian Jackson, Wayne McCullough, Lucia Rijker, Mia St. John, Gerry Cooney, Gasper Ortega, Tony DeMarco, Carlos Palomino and many more.

For more information on the Hall of Fame’s 24th Annual Induction Weekend please call (315) 697-7095, visit online at, on Facebook at and on Twitter at

Comments are closed.

Related Boxing News:
Subscribe (Free!)

The views expressed in all articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of Boxing News 24 or its affiliates.

Boxing News FB Boxing News Twitter Boxing News INstagram Boxing News 24 Youtuber Mail

Privacy Statement l Cookies Policy l Boxing Resources l Back To Top l Contact Us