Boxing News - Latest Headlines

Donaire wins another award

LAS VEGAS, NEV. (January 28, 2013) — Top Rank’s ultra-talented stable ran the table winning all the major 2012 awards from the Boxing Writers Association of America. The BWAA announced on Sunday that World Boxing Organization junior featherweight champion NONITO DONAIRE was the recipient of its Sugar Ray Robinson “Fighter of the Year” award. Donaire (31-1, 20 KOs) won all four of his world title fights last year, defeating Wilfredo Vazquez, Jr., Jeffrey Mathebula, Toshiaki Nishioka and Jorge Arce, the last two by knockout, to extend his 11-year winning streak to 30 bouts. Capping a career-best year, Donaire had already been named the 2012 Fighter of the Year by Yahoo! Sports, ESPN, Sports Illustrated, USA Today and many other websites and newspapers.

Donaire’s trainer, former International Boxing Federation junior lightweight champion ROBERT GARCIA, was named the Eddie Futch “Trainer of the Year,” for his work with the Filipino Flash as well as with newly-minted World Boxing Organization (WBO) featherweight champion Mikey Garcia and undefeated former World Boxing Association lightweight champion Brandon Rios.

“Nonito came into his own in 2012. He will do even greater things in 2013 and beyond,” said Hall of Fame promoter Bob Arum. “He will become the next big pay-per-view star. Robert Garcia truly deserves the award as 2012 Trainer of the Year. As the best young trainer in boxing, his future is tremendous.”

“2012 was a text book year for Nonito,” added Top Rank president Todd duBoef. “Four fights against top division leaders and with decisive, impressive performances.”

Manny Pacquiao – Juan Manuel Márquez 4, which was co-promoted with Zanfer Promotions, was named the BWAA’s Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier “Fight of the Year.” The action-packed battle, which was held at the sold-out MGM Grand Garden Arena and sold close to 1.2 million pay-per-views in the U.S. alone, featured excitement, drama and a one-punch knockout victory by the Méxican icon Márquez.

Trampler, a Hall of Fame matchmaker, is the co-winner of the Barney Nagler Award for “Long and Meritorious Service” to the sport of boxing.

The BWAA Awards Dinner will be held in New York this spring at a venue and date to be announced.

For more information on Top Rank and the BWAA, go to and, respectively.

Marc Castro signs with Matchroom Boxing USA

Comments are closed.

Subscribe (Free!)

The views expressed in all articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of BoxingNews24 or its affiliates.

Facebook Button Twitter Button Twitter Button

Do Not Sell My Personal Information Privacy Statement l Cookies Policy l Boxing Resources l Back To Top l Contact Us