Boxing News - Latest Headlines

Richards Defeats Pedro

LatestIn a bout marred by constant fouling, up and coming heavyweight talent Adam “Swamp Donkey” Richards (19-1, 13 KOs) won by fourth round disqualification over Rafael Pedro (20-7-1, 14 KOs) on Friday night at the Hard Rock Casino, in Biloxi, Mississippi. Richards, 26, was far and away the better fighter of the two, as he showed in the first round, landing punishing hooks to the head and body. However, despite a good start, the bout soon after descended into an ugly affair in which both fighters threw rabbit punches and held & hit, addition to several accident head butts that occurred in the bout.

At the start of the fourth round, Pedro, a 6’7 247 lbs muscular fighter originally from Cuba, marched across the ring and angrily landed a punch to the back of Richard’s head. As the referee attempted to intervene, Pedro tried one more time to land another rabbit punch. The referee halted the bout at this time and disqualified Pedro. It was later learned that Pedro had been previously disqualified on two other occasions for fouls in earlier bouts.

Richards showed excellent boxing skills sandwiched between the many fouls, landing effective body shots and a number of head shots in the first three rounds of the fight. Richards had Pedro, 32, in trouble in the third round after hurting him with a right hand late in the round. Seeing that he was hurt, Richards unloaded a blizzard of head shots against Pedro, although it appeared that many of them missed their target which allowed Pedro to escape the round in one piece.

However, in between rounds Pedro’s kettle must have been stewing because when he came out for the 4th round, he had a look of menace on his face as he sauntered up to Richards, and preceded to land a perfectly placed rabbit punch to the back of Richard’s head. After getting hit, Richards stepped back a couple of steps, grabbing the back of his head and looking at Pedro out of curiosity, as if to say “what was that for.” Pedro, however, wasn’t through yet, and he immediately threw another right hand, aiming it for the back of Richard’s head, but fortunately it missed because Richards had started to walk away just before Pedro let the punch go. The referee Bill Clancy then moved in and disqualified Pedro.

More Boxing News:

Comments are closed.

Subscribe (Free!)

The views expressed in all articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of BoxingNews24 or its affiliates.

Facebook Button Twitter Button Twitter Button

Do Not Sell My Personal Information Privacy Statement l Cookies Policy l Boxing Resources l Back To Top l Contact Us