Fury confesses that he hit Abell low on purpose
By Scott Gilfoid: In a sad confession by heavyweight Tyson Fury (22-0, 16 KO’s) last night, he admitted that he intentionally hit journeyman Joey Abell (29-8, 28 KO’s) low last night in the 3rd round of their fight at the Copper Box Arena in London, UK. For the most part, Fury had been dominating the powerful but over-matched 32-year-old Abell. However, in the 3rd round, Fury nailed Abell with a punch South of the border while the referee was attempting to break them.
Fury said he hit him low in retaliation for Abell’s head-butt that took place earlier in the fight. That’s a sad excuse from Fury for him hitting the man low because Abell didn’t appear to intentionally head-butt Fury. In looking at replays last night, it appeared that Abell’s forward momentum caused his head to ram into Fury’s head when he went after him after buzzing him with a hard shot.
“Yes, I did it on purpose,” Fury said to IFL TV. “I hit him right in the nuts as hard as I could. He head-butted me right on the side of the head. He really done me. He hit me on the side of the head with his head. I’m telling you, I was dizzy.”
Will you look at that? It’s so, so sad. Fury is admitting hitting his over-matched opponent below decks for the heck of it. It wasn’t enough that he was facing a hand-picked opponent that had been knocked out in 3 out of his last 5 fights coming into the fight. Fury had to nail the guy low to get a further edge. The really disappointing thing is that Fury did this on the break directly in front of the referee, and he didn’t do a thing to penalize Fury for the foul. Later in the fight, Fury tagged Abell twice while he was on the canvas in the 4th round, and the referee didn’t disqualify Fury. Instead, he stopped the fight and gave Fury the victory. The referee was standing right there when Fury hit Abell twice while he was down, yet he did nothing except stop the fight after Abell got back up.