Khan reflects on loss to Garcia: I was surprised the referee stopped it
By Scott Gilfoid: It’s so sad when fighters don’t realize when they’ve been knocked out and foolishly blame the referee when they get spanked. Amir Khan still doesn’t seem to realize how bad off he was when he got destroyed by WBC light welterweight champion Danny Garcia last July in a 4th round TKO. Khan was knocked down once in the 3rd round and twice more in the 4th before the referee mercifully saved Khan from taking even more punishment by stopping the fight.
Khan said to thesun.co.uk “I was a little surprised the referee stopped it. I thought he was going to let us continue. My mind was clear and I thought my legs were ok but I respect the referee, the judges and the commission, maybe they made the right call.”
Maybe they made the right call? Is Khan kidding or what? He just had just been knocked down twice by Garcia in the 4th and he thinks that he could have continued? Good god, man you were knocked out, so why should the referee have allowed the beating to continue?
Khan was literally running from Garcia at one point in the 4th. I’m talking in the literal sense. Khan was sprinting away from Garcia moments before he was knocked down. He wasn’t going to make out of that round even if the referee had allowed the fight to continue. If he had, I think Khan would have knocked down five or six times in the round before Garcia knocked him out cold with one of his big left hands.
Khan’s punch resistance had melted away completely after he was knocked down in the 3rd by a beautiful left hook to the neck from Garcia. Heck, you could have trotted the feather-fisted Paulie Malignaggi out there at that point and he’d have likely had Khan hitting the deck repeatedly just like Garcia was.