Boxing News - Latest Headlines


Irish Amateur Boxing Association

AIBA have confirmed that Katie Taylor will receive the 2012 AIBA World Elite Female Boxer of the Year Award for an historic third time.

The 2012 AIBA Award Ceremony will take place in Yerevan, Armenia on December 7th.

Taylor , who scooped the prestigious AIBA Award in 2008 and 2010, is the current Olympic, World, European and European Union lightweight champion.

The 26-year-old claimed gold at the AIBA World Women’s Championships and Olympic Games this year and also picked up the Best Boxer Award from both tournaments in China and the UK.

“Katie has won the award three times now and that has never been done before. It’s a great honour and we’re absolutely delighted”, said Taylor’s coach and dad, Pete Taylor.

Meanwhile, Tyrone’s Michael Gallagher – who scooped the Best Referee and Judge (R&J) Award at the 2012 Olympics – will be presented with the 2012 Best World R&J Award in Yerevan.

This is the second time that the Omagh man, a member of the Clonoe BC, has won the top award.

The 2012 AIBA Annual Awards will take place in conjunction with the final banquet of the 2012 AIBA World Youth Championships.

Yerevan has proved to be a happy hunting ground for Irish boxing in the past as Joe Ward won light-middleweight gold in the city at the 2009 AIBA World Junior Championships.

The selection committee for the 2012 AIBA Annual Awards was chaired by AIBA President, Dr Ching-Kuo Wu, and composed by AIBA Commission Chairpersons.

AIBA Award Winners 2012

Best Elite Men Boxer of the Year – Oleksandr USYK (Ukraine)
Best Elite Women Boxer of the Year – Katie TAYLOR (Ireland)
Best Referee & Judge of the Year – Michael GALLAGHER (Ireland)
Best Coach of the Year – David HALLOWAY (Great Britain)
Best Technical Official of the Year – Franco FALCINELLI (Italy)
Best WSB Boxer of the Year – Sergiy DEREVYANCHENKO (Ukraine)
Best WSB Referee & Judge of the Year – Jean-Robert LAINE (France)
Best WSB Coach of the Year – Francesco DAMIANI (Italy)
Best WSB Supervisor of the Year – Luiz BOSELLI (Brazil)
Best Sportsmanship of the Year – Garip ERCUYUMCU (Turkey)

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to our free boxing mailing list
* indicates required

The views expressed in all articles are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect those of BoxingNews24 or its affiliates.

Privacy Statement l Back to top of page l Cookies Policy l Boxing Resources l Contact Us
Read previous post:
Froch: Mack has only lost against the best; he was beating Cloud

By Scott Gilfoid: IBF super middleweight champion Carl Froch (29-2, 21 KO's) and his promoter Eddie Hearn are busy trying...